Latest News

Many Civil Society Organisations (CSOs) in Zimbabwe today are involved in humanitarian and development work, democracy and governance issues, and t

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), otherwise known, as global goals are a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and en

It is our sincere hope that we all celebrated the Day of the African Child very well.


Does Poverty Reduction Strategies work in Zimbabwe?

Current Programs

The National Association of Non Governmental Organisations (NANGO) is coordinating the implementation of the Non- State Actors Coordination and Capacity Strengthening Programme. The programme is funded by EU and is implemented countrywide.

The Poverty Reduction and Development programme coordinates civil society efforts to influence the formulation, implementation, monitoring and review of policies, strategies and local and national budgets.

The Child Friendly National Budget Initiative (CFNBI) is a child-focused project being implemented by NANGO. The project promotes the prioritization of child related issues in local and national budgets.

As “the voice of NGOs in Zimbabwe”, communication and networking belongs to NANGO’s key mandates. In order to improve the flow of information to the membership

The National Association of Non Governmental Organisations (NANGO) as a national umbrella body has joint hands with key technical and development partners like CIVICUS and UNDP in to roll out the Leave No One Behind campaign to achieve the objectives identified.

Civil Society Organizations are continuing to play a key role in engaging various stakeholders as well as duty bearers on the advocacy of human rights and legislative reform

NANGO E-Newsletter

Zimbabwe is a signatory to international and regional instruments, which promote the realisation of child rights. These include, the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) and the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child.


The Sustainable Development Goals
The Sustainable Development Goals are a UN Initiative.

Thematic Sectors

NANGO carries under its wings an amalgam of various issues constituencies and representative groups all with the singular focus of meeting the development needs of men, women and children in Zimbabwe. Its membership is segmented into 10 different thematic sectors:


In the Midlands Region, NANGO boasts of a membership of more than 60 Non-Governmental Organisations drawn from community based organisations (CBOs), faith based organisations, national as well as international organisations in all its thematic sectors. The Midlands Region’s administrative office is housed in Gweru and covers 7 districts: Kwekwe, Chirumanzu, Zvishavane, Shurugwi, Mberengwa and Gokwe. The Region has a vibrant Youth, Women, HIV/AIDS and Human Rights Sector.

The Southern Region hosts several tourist attractions which includes the Great Zimbabwe Ruins where the name of our country was driven from Dzimba Dzemabwe. Other sites are the Gonarezhou National Park and Tokwe Mukosi Dam which is the largest inland dam in Zimbabwe. Climatically, it falls under the category of Natural Regions IV and V. This means that rainfall is erratic and most of the areas are increasingly prone to drought. Many rural communities thus had to diversify their crops in recent years.

The region boasts of a number of tourist attractions such as Victoria Falls, the largest falls in the world and one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World; Hwange National Park, the largest national park in the country and; Matopos National Park. As of 2002, the total population of the region was 2,033,025 with the highest being the Matabeleland North Province. The region is the most culturally and politically diverse part of the country with over 8 languages spoken in the region as well as 6 political parties.

Zimbabwe is often referred to as the jewel of Africa, and the Eastern Region serves as an example of just that. High in the mountains of the Eastern Highlands, the city of Mutare is located on the border of Mozambique. Mutare serves as the provincial Capital and is Zimbabwe’s gateway to the Indian Ocean. This province has an area of about 36,500 km squared and a population of approximately 1,6 million (in 2002). The province is subdivided into seven rural districts namely Buhera, Chimanimani, Chipinge, Makoni, Mutare, Mutasa and Nyanga in the North East of the province.

Northern Region is the largest region of all the NANGO regions covering the Harare Metropolitan Province and all the Mashonaland Provinces (Mashonaland East, Mashonaland West and Mashonaland South). The region houses the greater part of the Association’s membership registering about 480 members spread across the ten thematic sectors of NANGO. The regional membership comprises internatinal and national NGOs as well as community based organisation.

Want to be a NANGO member?

Please contact us and we will get back to you as soon as possible. Click me